Skip to main content

FHS Libguides (Library Guides): Acting & Play Study - Ibsen & Wilde research

Created using your teacher's assignments and library resources, these guides are a great first place to start your research. Find databases, books, websites, and other tools that can help you do your homework.

Assignment

Your final will include:

  • A scene from The Importance of Being Earnest or A Doll’s House
  • A 3 page research paper on the playwright, the times, and how the play reflects the time in which it was written.
    • ‚ÄčYou must use a minimum of two sources for this essay: these should be books, ebooks, database articles or websites approved by Mr. Brindley or Ms. Courchesne.
  • A 3 page paper presenting an overview of acting styles that we have studied over the past semester and how you have grown as a performer through the course of this class. Cite specific examples from class experience.  (No outside resources required for this paper.)

The scene is your final exam. The papers are test grades. 

 

Search the Library Catalog for Books

Click the button to search the Library catalog.

Drama for Students - USE THIS FIRST!

Link to Databases & Encyclopedia

Databases are collections of published articles, scholarly papers, research etc. that are made available online. The information in databases has been edited and fact-checked. Databases contain accurate, reliable, and timely information - perfect for your research assignments.

SUGGESTED DATABASES:

 World History in Context         

Suggested Search Terms: Ibsen, Wilde, Realism, theatr*

Books of Interest

Subject Guide

Alison Courchesne's picture
Alison Courchesne
Contact:
FHS Library
(508) 620-4963
ext. 27588

M-Th 7:15am-3:00pm
Fri 7:15am-2:15pm
Website

FHS Research Paper Guide, 8th edition

Please use this guidebook when writing your research paper.  It includes information on how to set up your essay in MLA format and how to correctly cite your sources in your essay and in your Works Cited page.