Walsh Middle School: EXPLORING EUROPE

1. Europe is the second smallest continent in the world, but it has the third largest population.      
2. The European Union (EU) is a political and economic union of 27 countries in Europe.
3. The euro is the official currency of 19 out of the 27 EU countries.
4. The tallest mountain in Europe is Mount Elbrus, located in Russia.
5. The Danube River is the second longest river in Europe, stretching for 1,777 miles.
6. The Nobel Prize, one of the most prestigious awards in the world, is awarded annually in Sweden and Norway.
7. Football (soccer) is the most popular sport in Europe, with the UEFA Champions League being one of the most watched annual sporting events.
8. The Mona Lisa, one of the most famous paintings in the world, is located in the Louvre Museum in Paris, France.
9. The European Space Agency (ESA) is headquartered in Paris, and it has launched numerous missions to explore space and study the universe.
10. Each country in Europe has its own unique culture, traditions, and history, shaped by its geography, language, and other factors.
11. Europe is home to many of the world's largest and most successful tech companies, such as Spotify, Skype, and Zalando.
12. Europe has a rich history of classical music, with composers such as Bach, Mozart, and Beethoven originating from the continent.
13. The population of Europe is currently around 750 million people, making it the third most populous continent in the world.
14. The European Union has implemented ambitious climate change policies, with a goal of achieving carbon neutrality by 2050.
15. Europe is home to many famous festivals and celebrations, such as Oktoberfest in Germany and La Tomatina in Spain.
16. Europe is home to some of the world's most advanced healthcare systems, such as the National Health Service (NHS) in the United Kingdom.
17. Europe has a diverse range of cuisine, with famous dishes such as Italian pasta, French croissants, and Spanish paella.

Geography has played a big role in shaping the cultures of countries in Europe, like England, Sweden, Spain, Ukraine, and Poland. After learning about how geography has influenced the culture of these countries, you can conduct research on each country to learn more about their specific geography. This includes their rivers, mountains, and cities, as well as studying maps to gain a better understanding of their physical features. Additionally, you can explore the country's culture by learning about their music, traditional clothing, celebrations, and symbols. This will give you a deeper understanding of how geography has influenced the unique culture of each country.

Ukraine is a country in Eastern Europe with diverse geography, including steppes, forests, mountains, and coastline on the Black Sea. Ukrainian folk music and dance are popular, and traditional dress is elaborate. Ukrainian cuisine includes dishes such as borscht, varenyky, and salo. Ukraine celebrates many festivals and holidays throughout the year.

Learn more about UkraineÑ

• Ukraine's official website: Ukraine.ua provides information on Ukraine's geography, history, culture, and society. It includes articles, videos, and photos to help visitors learn about Ukraine. Link: https://ukraine.ua/

• The Ukrainian Institute: The Ukrainian Institute is a public institution that promotes Ukrainian culture and values internationally. It provides educational resources on Ukrainian culture, including literature, art, and music. Link: https://ui.org.ua/en/

• Discover Ukraine: This website provides information on Ukraine's geography, culture, history, and tourist attractions. It includes articles, photos, and videos to help visitors learn about Ukraine. Link: https://discoverukraine.com/

 Sweden is a country in Northern Europe known for its natural beauty, innovation, and culture. Its capital, Stockholm, is a   modern city with a rich history and stunning architecture. Sweden is also famous for its Scandinavian design, music, l     iterature, and cuisine, which includes meatballs and cinnamon buns. The country is home to many famous landmarks   and attractions, such as the Vasa Museum, the ABBA Museum, and the Ice Hotel. Sweden also has a reputation for   being  environmentally conscious and socially progressive, making it an interesting subject for research by 6th graders.

Learn more about SWEDEN.

• Sweden's official website: Sweden.se provides information on Sweden's geography, history, culture, and society. It includes interactive maps, videos, and photos to help visitors learn about Sweden. Link: https://sweden.se/

• The Swedish National Heritage Board: This website provides a wealth of information on Sweden's cultural heritage, including historic buildings, monuments, and archaeological sites. It also offers educational resources on Swedish culture and history. Link: https://www.raa.se/

• The Swedish Institute: The Swedish Institute is a public agency that promotes Swedish culture and values internationally. It provides educational resources on Swedish culture, including literature, design, and the arts. Link: https://si.se/en/

Poland is a Central European country known for its rich history, diverse culture, and beautiful landscapes. The country is famous for its historic sites, such as medieval castles and World War II memorials, as well as its natural wonders, including the Tatra Mountains and the Biebrza Marshes. Traditional folk music, dance, and cuisine also reflect Poland's diverse influences, making it a fascinating learning experience for students of all ages.

Learn more about Poland[

1. Poland - Kids World Travel Guide: A kid-friendly guide to Poland, including information on its geography, history, culture, and attractions. https://kids-world-travel-guide.com/poland/

2. Poland - National Geographic Kids: This website provides a basic overview of Poland, including its geography, history, culture, and wildlife. https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/explore/countries/poland/

3. Culture.pl: A comprehensive website about Polish culture, including information on art, music, film, literature, and more. https://culture.pl/en

  England is a country located in the southern part of the island of Great Britain. It is known for its rich history, cultural     heritage, and diverse geography. The country has a long coastline and is bordered by Scotland to the north and Wales to    the west. England is home t Instructions for Paste and Spellcheck o many famous landmarks, such as the Big Ben clock tower, Buckingham Palace, and     Stonehenge. Its culture is influenced by its history, literature, and music, with notable contributions in theater, literature, and pop music.

Learn more about England

1. National Geographic Kids - England: This website provides a brief overview of England's geography, culture, history, and wildlife. It also includes fun facts, photos, and videos that kids will enjoy. Link: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/explore/countries/england/

2. BBC Bitesize - England: This website offers educational resources for kids studying England's geography, history, and culture. It features interactive quizzes, games, and videos that make learning fun. Link: https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zkrkscw

3. VisitBritain - England for Kids: This website is a comprehensive guide to family-friendly activities, attractions, and events in England. It provides useful information on England's history, culture, and geography, as well as tips for traveling with kids. Link: https://www.visitbritain.com/gb/en/england-kids

Spain is a country located in southwestern Europe, known for its rich history, diverse culture, and beautiful landscapes. The country has a long and fascinating history, which has left its mark on the country's architecture, art, and culture. Spain is famous for its many historic sites, such as the Alhambra Palace in Granada, the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona, and the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela. The country is also renowned for its delicious food, such as paella and tapas, and its vibrant music and dance traditions, such as flamenco. Spain is also home to many stunning natural wonders, including the beaches of the Costa del Sol, the Pyrenees Mountains, and the Canary Islands.

Learn more about SPain:

1. Spain.info: Official tourism website of Spain with information about the country's geography, history, culture, and attractions. Link: https://www.spain.info/en/

2. Kids World Travel Guide: Spain - https://www.kids-world-travel-guide.com/spain-facts.html

3. Ducksters: Geography of Spain - https://www.ducksters.com/geography/country.php?country=Spain

4. The Spain Scoop: Culture and Traditions - https://www.thespainscoop.com/category/culture-and-traditions/

1. Kids World Travel Guide Europe:

2. National Geographic Kids Europe:

3. European Youth Portal:

4. BBC Bitesize Geography Europe:

5. Europeana:

   LET' S EXPLORE GEOGRAPHY

• European Union, Phyisical and Geography
•  National Geographic Kids Maps: This website offers a range of interactive maps that kids can explore, including political, physical, and thematic maps. The maps are easy to navigate and include fun facts and information about different regions and countries.

Link: National Geographic Educations Maps

• Google Earth: Google Earth is a virtual globe that allows kids to explore the world from their computer or device. They can view satellite imagery, 3D buildings, terrain, and more. It's a great tool for learning about geography and exploring different parts of the world.

Link: https://www.google.com/earth/

• Google maps Europe explote each european country using Google maps'  tools

Link: GOOGLE MAPS EUROPE ( MY MAPS)