Skip to main content

FHS Libguides (Library Guides): Mr. Tarlin's American Dream research paper

Created using your teacher's assignments and library resources, these guides are a great first place to start your research. Find databases, books, websites, and other tools that can help you do your homework.

Assignment

How is the American Dream evident through a poem or song of your choice?

Mr. Tarlin's assignment documents:

Mr. Compton's assignment documents:

Search the Library Catalog for Books

Click the button to search the Library catalog.

Online Dictionaries

Cite dictionary definitions as if they were articles on a website.  For example:

"Dream." Merriam Webster Dictionary, 2017, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/dream.

American documents & the American Dream

Databases of Interest

Databases are collections of published articles, scholarly papers, research etc. that are NOT usually available on the internet.  

 Use this one for American history/cultural context:

Use this one for news articles about your subject:     

On this one, search for literary criticism about your poem/song:  

On this one, search for articles about your author's biography: 

 

eBooks - research for The American Dream & your song/artist

American History by Decades (1900s-present)

Subject Guide

Alison Courchesne's picture
Alison Courchesne
Contact:
FHS Library
(508) 620-4963
ext. 27588

M-Th 7:15am-3:00pm
Fri 7:15am-2:15pm
Website

FHS Research Paper Guide, 8th edition

Please use this guidebook when writing your research paper.  It includes information on how to set up your essay in MLA format and how to correctly cite your sources in your essay and in your Works Cited page.