AP African American Studies - Culture, Community & Resistance Research - FHS Libguides (Library Guides)

Databases of Interest

Databases are collections of published articles, scholarly papers, research etc. that are NOT usually available on the internet.

Black & African American History

African Kingdoms
Publication Date: 2017
Click on the cover to get to this eBook
African American History
Publication Date: 2017
PASSWORD: fhslibrary

Framingham African American History

Biographies of Enslaved People in 1700s Framingham
Biographies of Famous People in Framingham - all time periods
(Include Crispus Attucks, Peter Salem and Meta Warrick Fuller)

Abel Benson illustration? from Thomas Nixon Jr.’s Book of Capers (c. 1777- 1810)
From the Framingham History Center collection. See full description on p. 14-15 of this Finding Aid: https://framinghamhistory.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/08/Framingham-People-of-Color-1600-1800_08-4-22_update.pdf

The Anti-Slavery Movement in Framingham - Primary Sources

Black Culture in 17th-->19th c. Massachusetts - Primary Sources

Primary Sources - Documents & Newspapers

"Constellations" online exhibits
from the National Museum of African American History & Culture
Black History and Culture Resources - Google Cultural Institute
Google's partnership with thousands of museums allows you to search their digital collections from one Google site.
"African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection"
Digitized versions of Primary Source documents from the Library of Congress collection
Born in Slavery
Primary Source narratives by former slaves, compiled by the Library of Congress.
Online Exhibitions
from the National Museum of African American History and Culture
100 Milestone Documents in American History
This list is in chronological order, and each milestone document has a handy explanation and analysis to help you out.
American Primary Source Documents from the National Archives
Choose the "search" option and input the names or events related to your topic.
Chronicling America
Library of Congress's searchable digitized newspapers from across America from 1789 to 1922. Great resource for articles, advertisements, cartoons, etc.
Digital Public Library of America
A searchable library of 5,000,000 primary source resources from museums, historical societies and libraries around the country.
Smithsonian Institute Learning Lab
The Smithsonian Museums' entire digital collection. Easy to search and includes citations.

Primary Sources - Massachusetts History

Digital Commonwealth
Searchable archive of old letters, maps, photos, etc from all over Massachusetts.
Massachusetts Historical Society
Mass. Historical Society's online archive of objects, illustrations, cartoons, maps, letters, etc. Focused on Mass. history and Mass. residents.

Massachusetts Archives Digital Library
Access point for permanent digital records of Massachusetts state government.

Subject Guide

Alison Courchesne

Email Me

Contact:

FHS Library
(508) 620-4963
ext. 27588

M-Th 7:15am-3:00pm
Fri 7:15am-2:15pm

FHS Research Paper Guide, 8th edition

FHS Research Paper Guide, 8th edition

Please use this guidebook when writing your research paper. It includes information on how to set up your essay in MLA format and how to correctly cite your sources in your essay and in your Works Cited page.

NoodleTools

Search the Library Catalog for Books

Click the button to search the Library catalog.

FHS Libguides (Library Guides): AP African American Studies - Culture, Community & Resistance Research