Build Your Own DBQ - US 1 & 2 - FHS Libguides (Library Guides) - LibGuides CMS at Framingham High School

Assignment

Assignment - 2022

Search the Library Catalog for Books

Click the button to search the Library catalog.

Databases of Interest

Databases are collections of published articles, scholarly papers, research etc. that are NOT usually available on the internet.

NoodleTools

Primary Sources - Documents & Newspapers

100 Milestone Documents in American History
This list is in chronological order, and each milestone document has a handy explanation and analysis to help you out.
American Memory archive - LOC
The Library of Congress's archive, browsable by topic, time period, or region.
American Primary Source Documents from the National Archives
Choose the "search" option and input the names or events related to your topic.
Born in Slavery
Primary Source narratives by former slaves, compiled by the Library of Congress.
Chronicling America
Library of Congress's searchable digitized newspapers from across America from 1789 to 1922. Great resource for articles, advertisements, cartoons, etc.
Digital Public Library of America
Gilder Lehrman Institute
A collection of online primary source documents aimed at students and teachers of American history.
Google Cultural Institute
Google's partnership with thousands of museums allows you to search their digital collections from one Google site.
National Archives' online exhibits
Documents and other items in the National Archives locations across the US.
Smithsonian Institute Learning Lab
The Smithsonian Museums' entire digital collection. Easy to search and includes citations.

Primary Sources - Massachusetts History

Digital Commonwealth
Searchable archive of old letters, maps, photos, etc from all over Massachusetts.
Massachusetts Historical Society
Mass. Historical Society's online archive of objects, illustrations, cartoons, maps, letters, etc. Focused on Mass. history and Mass. residents.

Massachusetts Archives Digital Library
Access point for permanent digital records of Massachusetts state government.

Primary Sources - Video, Images & Maps

Digital Collection - New York Public Library
The NYPL has almost 1,000,000 documents, photos, manuscripts, posters and maps available online, and all easily searched by keyword.
Online map collection - Boston Public Library
Online collection of historical maps from New England and the rest of the US. All viewable online with citation information.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog - LOC
The online image collection from the Library of Congress. Each image has source information and content summary.
PBS Learning Media
PBS Learning Media includes video and still images from various historical time periods.
American Archive (PBS)
Streaming video clips from PBS and NPR news programs, organized by topic

American History by Decades (1900s-present)

This Is Who We Were: in the 1900s
Publication Date: 2017
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were: in The 1910s
Publication Date: 2014
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were: in the 1920s
Publication Date: 2014
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were: In the 1930s (Comp. to the 1940 Census)
Publication Date: 2012
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were: in The 1940s
Publication Date: 2015
PASSWORD: fhslibrary
This is Who We Were: in the 1950s
Publication Date: 2013
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were: in the 1960s
Publication Date: 2013
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were: in The 1970s
Publication Date: 2016
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were: in The 1980s
Publication Date: 2016
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were in the 1990s
Publication Date: 2017
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
This Is Who We Were: in The 2000s
Publication Date: 2018
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.

American History by Topic (1900s-present)

Disability in American Life
Publication Date: 2018
Please click the cover to get to this eBook.
USERNAME: framhs
PASSWORD: framhs
Reforming America: A Thematic Encyclopedia and Document Collection of the Progressive Era
Publication Date: 2017
Please click the cover to get to this eBook.
USERNAME: framhs
PASSWORD: framhs
World War I Reference Library
Publication Date: 2001
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
World War I
Publication Date: 2015
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
LOGIN: fhslibrary.
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age
Publication Date: 2013
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
Great Depression and New Deal Reference Library
Publication Date: 2002
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
World War II
Publication Date: 2015
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
LOGIN: fhslibrary.
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
World War II Reference Library
Publication Date: 1999
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
Music in American Life
Call Number: 780.973
Publication Date: 2013
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms
Publication Date: 2002
Click the cover to get to this eBook.
PASSWORD: library
Hippies: Guide to an American Subculture
Publication Date: 2009
Please click the cover to get to this eBook.
USERNAME: framhs
PASSWORD: framhs
African Americans and Criminal Justice
Publication Date: 2014
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
Defining Documents in American History - LGBTQ+
Publication Date: 2018
Remote PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
Blacks in Paris: African American Culture in Europe by Duchess Harris
Publication Date: 2019
Click the cover to get to this ebook.
username: framingham
password: student
Turmoil in America
Publication Date: 2021
Click the cover to get to this ebook.
username: fhslibrary
password: student
Domestic Extremism
Publication Date: 2021
Click the cover to get to this ebook.
username: fhslibrary
password: student
Reparations for Slavery
Publication Date: 2021
Click on the cover to get to this eBook.
LOGIN: fhslibrary.
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.
Defining Documents: the Great Migration
Publication Date: 2022
PASSWORD: fhslibrary.

Subject Guide

Alison Courchesne

Email Me

Contact:

FHS Library
(508) 620-4963
ext. 27588

M-Th 7:15am-3:00pm
Fri 7:15am-2:15pm

FHS Research Paper Guide, 8th edition

FHS Research Paper Guide, 8th edition

Please use this guidebook when writing your research paper. It includes information on how to set up your essay in MLA format and how to correctly cite your sources in your essay and in your Works Cited page.

FHS Libguides (Library Guides): Build Your Own DBQ - US 1 & 2