FHS Libguides (Library Guides): Ms. McGowan's Family Feuds Research Paper

Family Feuds Research Paper

Mrs. McGowan, English 1

Overview:

As we read Romeo and Juliet, we have explored Shakespeare’s depiction of family feuds and their tragic consequences. Family feuds, however, are not just confined to fiction. History is filled with examples of rivalries that shaped lives, communities, and sometimes entire nations. Your task is to research one such historical family feud and compare it to the Capulet-Montague feud in Romeo and Juliet.

Research Question:

To what extent does the historical family feud you chose reflect the themes and conflicts seen in Romeo and Juliet?

Consider the following questions as you develop your argument:

• What were the causes of the historical feud?

• How did the feud impact the families and the surrounding society?

• How was the feud resolved, or why did it persist?

• What lessons can be drawn from this historical feud and Shakespeare’s portrayal of family conflicts?

Requirements:

• Length: 3-4 pages (not including your Works Cited page)

• Notecards: ~20 notecards using direct quotations, summaries, and paraphrasing

  • Options: Noodletools, Google Slides, or handwritten notecards

• Sources: At least 3 sources of at least three different types (e.g., articles, books, documentaries)

• Format: MLA, including in-text citations and a Works Cited page

Timeline:

Part 1: Research and Sources

• Goal: Create 20 notecards and compile 3 sources on Noodle Tools.

Part 2: Works Cited and Thesis Development

• Goal: Compile your sources into an MLA-formatted Works Cited page.

• Goal: Develop a clear thesis and topic sentences for your body paragraphs.

Part 3: Full-Sentence Outline

• Include:

  • Complete thesis and topic sentences

  • Paraphrased and quoted evidence

  • In-text citations for each piece of evidence

  • MLA Works Cited page

  • Proper MLA formatting throughout

Part 4: Drafting the Paper

• Goal: Save your outline as a new document and expand it into full paragraphs.

• Write complete body paragraphs with transitions.

• Add your introduction and conclusion to complete the first draft.

Part 5: Peer Review and Final Draft

• Goal: Edit your paper with a peer or individually based on feedback.

• Submit your polished paper on the due date.

Rubric:

• MLA Formatting (5 points): Proper heading, title, spacing, font, and citations.

• Introduction (10 points): Includes a hook, background information, and a clear thesis.

• Body Paragraphs (30 points): Topic sentences connect to the thesis, evidence is relevant and properly cited, and paraphrasing is thorough.

• Conclusion (10 points): Restates the thesis, provides insight, and ends with a clincher.

• Language Use (20 points): Varied vocabulary, formal tone, smooth transitions.

• Grammar and Mechanics (20 points): Correct spelling, punctuation, and sentence structure.

• Citations (10 points): Proper in-text citations for all evidence.

• Works Cited (5 points): Proper MLA format, variety of sources, and accuracy.

Helpful Resources:

• Library databases and LibGuides

• Tutorials on creating MLA citations

• NoodleTools for organizing notes and citations

If you have any questions or need help during the research or writing process, don’t hesitate to ask!

Databases are collections of published articles, scholarly papers, research etc. that are made available online. The information in databases has been edited and fact-checked. Databases contain accurate, reliable, and timely information - perfect for your research assignments. 

SUGGESTED DATABASES:

If any article you find on Scholar is behind a paywall, please email Ms. Courchesne or Ms. Maher and she will retrieving a free PDF version of that article for you.

Please use this guidebook when writing your research paper.  It includes information on how to set up your essay in MLA format and how to correctly cite your sources in your essay and in your Works Cited page.